Reaching out to a Community of Support

Welcome to Emily’s Carelines page! Thank you for coming to support Emily in her journey of recovery. Here you can:


Thanks for coming to my fundraiser page! 

Here's a bit about my journey:

-I grew up in Central PA in a middle class family seemingly healthy. 

-I attended Penn State University to become an Engineer. Throughout university I worked multiple jobs & proudly paid my way through and became debt free. I graduated in 2018.

-In 2019 I very suddenly became sick. Doctors were confused for months, and I stopped working for 9 months. My body wasn't making blood. After biotherapy and several other medications, I became stable. 

-I then was diagnosed with Papillary Thyroid Cancer (possibly due to the blood problems), but with surgery and radiation in June 2021, I was considered healthy again. 

-UNFORTUNATELY, in July 2021, my blood problems relapsed. 

-I am now facing a Bone Marrow Transplant to fully cure my blood problems (Severe Aplastic Anemia and PNH). I truly hope and believe that this will be the final step to being healthy again!


Bone Marrow Transplants are a pretty intense procedure, and although I'm mentally preparing, I am nervous. 

Starting October 2nd I will be in the hospital for about a month. Then I will have about 3 months of 24/7 caregivers. After that I may be able to live on my own again, but most patients do not work for 3-12 months. I'll be getting biotherapy, chemotherapy, radiation, along with several other drugs. About 70% of people with my disease make it through the transplant. Of the 70% of people, about 25% have lasting side effects, but since I'm young and have a 10/10 matched donor, we have high hopes that the transplant will go smoothly.  


That all being said, there are a lot of bills upcoming & I won't be working.

Medical related items:

-Health Insurance $477/month (currently paying for COBRA)

-AirBnb for my mom to move to Philly to be my caregiver for 4 months $13,000

-Parking TBD

-Food/Gas etc $120/month

-Medical Bills 2022 $3,500


Typical Bills Unrelated to Medical:

-Apartment Rent $950/month

-Utilities $130/month

-Car $175/Month


Assuming that I am out of work for 4 months, this is a total of over $22,000.

I will be very transparent and say that I am selling my Charlotte house to pay for these things & I may be making money from disability pay. Please only donate what you can easily spare. Anything that you contribute will help. 

These diseases have already taken away quite a bit of my time, I'm trying to also mitigate them from taking all of my life savings. Also, the nice part of using this website is that all donations are tax deductible (there is a 2.9% transaction fee, but if you write it off as a tax deduction, you should get 20%+ back), but again, please don't donate more than you can spare. 


Send Emily a messsage of support